One of the greatest joys in my life has been fathering my five amazing children. As parents we are given a limited amount of time to train our children to be productive members of society and to pass on a spiritual legacy. We have been intentional about fostering both dependence and independence in our children and teaching them to think for themselves. As your children grow, you must find the right balance between sheltering them from the dangers of the world and allowing them the freedom to make choices and even fail. My prayer has always been that each child will find God’s path for their lives. I want them to be exactly what God created them to be. I have enjoyed watching my sons grow into fine young men and can wait to see the spiritual impact they will have for Christ.
My oldest son, Zack has been married to a wonderful and godly woman for two years now and tomorrow she will give birth to my first grandchild, Evan. Tonight I find myself praying for Zack and Hannah. I know the journey they have ahead of them. I know the hardships, and I have experienced the joys.
I pray for Zack that he will be a godly and present husband. Hannah needs a man who is there for her. She needs a man who leads like Christ leads the church. I pray that Zack will be the example of integrity that engenders respect in the life of his son. I pray that he seeks God’s will for his family and prays with and for his wife and son.
I pray for Hannah that she is the wife to her husband that provides the strong support he needs to be the man of God that he has been called to be. I pray that she be the godly example that nurtures her son into maturity through deep motherly love. I pray that her example is one of honor and love.
I pray that Zack and Hannah will continue down the path that they have begun and continue to put God first. I pray they grow into their roles. That they work together to make proper decisions about discipline and care for their son. Most of all I pray that they enjoy every minute of their lives because it’s here one day and gone the next. You blink and your children are grown. And that they put God first, each other second, and only then can they love their children the way God intended.
What a day tomorrow will be when this father will become a grandfather. But more important, what a day it will be when and young man and woman take up the mantle as parents responsible for their own precious life. Enjoy the ride! It’s incredible. I am also told that being a grandfather is awesome!! More on that later…

Leave a Reply

